top of page

Rameaux (edited)

Today was Rameaux or, as we say in English, Palm Sunday.


It was not until a few years after I moved to Europe that I started noticing the intricately woven palm fronds for sale in early spring. That Palm Sunday was fast approaching did not register; I have never lived in a country where that celebration gets as much broad attention as it does here. I simply loved seeing the beautiful rosettes, bows and other designs being sold in the markets. And I know, it somewhat begs the question: having seen them, how could I have missed the connection to the Easter season? Now that I've got it, it is so utterly obvious.


I have since read that the most common or traditional shape to be made is a cross and that these emblematic crosses are burned the following year, the ash used as part of the blessing on Ash Wednesday.


Whatever your beliefs, I hope that this coming week will be peaceful for you.


xxxx Sonia


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page