top of page

IN THE MEANTIME...

What ho, my lovelies? I hope that your summer - or winter, if you are in the Southern Hemisphere - is going smoothly and that you and yours are happy and well.


I would love to tell you I've spent the last three and a half months expanding my technical know-how and working on my blogging skills; the truth is I've been putting off facing the monster under the bed that is site management. I love writing but can go from zero to panic in about four seconds flat when it comes to software programs and the like. Goodness knows it was a complete misunderstanding that found me volunteering for the role of webmaster for a non-profit organization in Texas all those years ago. What do you mean I will be publishing the newsletter online?! But, having successfully managed to get the job done (albeit with a good amount of hand-holding and each month ceaselessly repeating, uh, that is talking myself through every click, shift and enter, an by making copious notes, all the while holding my breath) I'm confident that the assistance I'm getting from the knowledgable WIX.com team, glitches are well on their way to being dealt with.


In the meantime ... a burning question, two books that sound intriguing, a game-changing hair treatment and other recent discoveries to share with you. And please note that, although I might enthuse about products that are mentioned, I have not tried all of them. I have no connection to the companies which manufacture or sell the items listed and I do not receive gifts or compensation for sharing information with you (now wouldn't that be nice?). My interest is purely personal.


Hugs to you, my friends





Vespa versus Lambretta, Lambretta versus Vespa

It's been six years since I moved to Europe and I still have visions of myself zipping around town on a scooter à la Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday, an Hermès silk square tied around my neck. Add a modern-day Gregory Peck (enter The Frenchman) and let the fun begin! All that's needed now is to decide what will be my ride: Vespa or Lambretta? Read all about these two iconic brands at:


www.prettygreen.com/news/2015/8/4/lambretta-versus-vespa-debate/





Fascinating or Thought-Provoking, Which do you Prefer? Maybe a Little of Each


Described as "a lifestyle guide for the Francophile and the Anglomaniac, a celebration of luxury that doesn't necessarily require money" the Encyclopedia of the Exquisite, An Anecdotal History of Elegant Delights by Jessica Kerwin Jenkins just might be the book for you.


Under the heading Black, you can read about early religious exhortations not to wear clothes of any other colour (apparently perky brights offended God in the 1600s) through to the introduction in the 1920s by Chanel of the Little Black Dress, and beyond. Would you like to learn about amorina and putti (cupids, cherubs and baby angels) or learn of the story behind blacmange (recipe included)? Even after only a cursory glance at the book on Amazon, I am contemplating a search for Claude glass: a convex, tinted mirror used to view landscapes. Doesn't it sound like just the thing to keep an eye on what's going on over one's shoulder, while sipping Champagne from behind an ogi? Take a peek at:


www.amazon.com/Encyclopedia-Exquisite-Anecdotal-History-Delights/dp/0385529694


Or if you've ever wondered what it would be like to find yourself front and centre within the pages of a bestselling novel (and really, who hasn't?) check out Disclaimer by Renée Knight. If you dare.




www.amazon/com/Disclaimer-LP-Novel-Ren-e-Knight/dp/0062393200/ref=tmm_pap-swatch-0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1439722738&sr=1-1





Olaplex Hair Treatment


I first read about Olaplex here. For those of us who have our hair chemically treated, Olaplex is being touted as the one ingredient we shouldn't live without. All it takes to repair damage to your loks is a fifteen-minute, two-step salon treatment. Results are permanent and the quality of hair improves with each application. There is also an optional take-home hair perfector, used weekly to strengthen hair further or to use as a pre-treatment to future chemical services. All that and it's easy on the bank account. Holy Grail of Hair Treatments, Batman! To learn more about the science behind this amazing products, go to www.behindthechair.com and read the article titled: Olaplex Could (and Will) Change Everything





Ringly: Where Jewellery Meets Technology

Made using precious and semi-precious stones, the Ringly works with both iOS and Android and will send reminders to you from your telephone's calendar, notify you of incoming calls, text messages and emails, as well as Twitter and FaceBook updates - whatever applications matter most to you. Put your phone away, enjoy what you're doing without the distraction of a mobile in your hand (or in your face) but never miss an important notification. Technology at its chicest - I want! Orders can be placed at www.ringly.com

Now That We've Chosen a Ring, Let's Talk About Our Nails

The last time I wore polish on my fingernails was for my marriage to The Frenchman almost two years ago. The Shellac certainly did its job, and was fine for the three weeks I wore it, without cracking, chipping or peeling, but it sure did a number on my nails. I know one should avoid saying never, but never again! And this is where OPI's Infinite Shine comes into play. I recently bought the three products that make up the bundle: 1 = Primer, 2 = Lacquer (in Pretty Pink Perseveres, as shown on the left) and 3 = Gloss.


I didn't get 12 days of wear as advertising suggests, but did make it to six with the polish on only the first and middle finger of my left (non-dominant) hand starting to wear. A great do-at-home varnish that lasts longer than average. My only complaint is that of the 16 colours that are available, all are opaque; I'd really like to see some clear shades.





For Your Listening Pleasure


I dare you to listen only once to Tami Neilson singing Walk (Back to Your Arms) - every time I hear this song I swear I have a girl-crush moment. Tami was born in Canada into a family that performed together so she has spent time on stage from an early age. Listen to a few tracks from her March 2014 album Dynamite! and you'll quickly understand why Nick Bollinger from New Zealand National Radio described her as "a red-hot, honky-tonker, somewhere between Patsy Cline and Wanda Jackson with perhaps just a little bit of Peggy Lee sophistication."


In 2014, Tami was awarded the Australasian Performing Rights Association (APRA) Silver Scroll, New Zealand's most prestigious award for excellence in songwriting (for Walk). She was also named Best Female Artist at the National County Music Awards and awarded APRA's Best Country Song at the NZ Country Music Awards. Dynamite! has received rave reviews and was one of the Top 10 Country Music Albums of 2014 according to The Guardian and was given five stars by The NZ Herald, which claimed: This world-class album is a major statement from and artist at the top of her lyrical and vocal game. Winning Best Country Album 2015, making #1 on the NZ Music Charts, Independent Music NZ Charts, and iTunes Country Charts, response to the album is proving the punits right. If you don't think you like country, Ms Neilson just might have you thinking again! As her husband Grant says, he's not a huge country music fan, but he is a Tami Neilson fan. Listen to Walk at:


www.reverbnation.com/tamineilson/song/20286177-walk-back-to-your-arms


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page