top of page

To Everything There is a Season

Not so long ago, even on my best and most happy days, I did everything to stay distracted enough to avoid my feelings. And when there was nothing that needed my immediate attention, there was a good chance you would find me sitting immobile and staring into the middle distance, sometimes for hours at a time. It was as though I had stepped outside myself and it seemed a better choice than being overwhelmed and feeling completely lost.


Then, as the spring/fall equinox approached I began to read that the March 2016 progression of the seasons would bring about exceptional changes, challenging the comfortable and tipping the world sideways. Perhaps it was true because I sensed a major shift, an easing of the sometimes-paralyzingly grief at losing mum. I still miss her more than words can say and although I know that she is gone I still wish every day that she were here. Oh to be able to pick up the phone and ask her how long I needed to cook a dish to get it just right, or to laugh or complain about something to her when I knew she'd understand without too much explanation. Or even to do my duty and listen to her, sometimes rolling my eyes at what she was saying but also understanding her. To simply hear her voice again. But being in the present and allowing myself to feel the happy as well as the sad has become much easier. I am aware of a different internal energy.


I know that some of you are going through your own difficult times - an undeniable understatement in some instances - and if I could take away your pain, I would do it in a heartbeat. When I look at you I'm humbled by your patience and perseverance and inspired by your courage and constancy.


And, of course, there are those of you who are soaring right now, or perhaps keeping the day-to-day orbit of your world moving smoothly and joyfully - I find that equally admirable and inspiring.


My heart is with you and I'm cheering you on, whatever the circumstances.

Thinking of you and sending love

IN FRANCE

I'LL LIGHT THE FIRE, YOU PLACE THE FLOWERS IN THE VASE (Crosby, Stills and Nash)

In January The Frenchman and I moved apartments. We didn't go very far; together with The Fur Ball we are now living one floor higher than we were in the same eight-residence building. The size and layout are more or less the same as we were used to but the finishes are newer than in the old place and we now have cellar space; getting seldom-used items out of the spare room has made such a difference to our home. In the other apartment, the only built-in storage was a double under-sink cupboard in the kitchen and half of that was taken up with water pipes. There was no counter space in the kitchen, just a double sink with a drainage section (in a horrible state). Our new kitchen has a single sink (with drainage) and a counter next to it with drawers and cupboards underneath and a row of cupboards above; there's built-in space under the window which has become home to pots and pans. These were bought and installed by the previous tenants; we in turn bought all of the fittings from them, together with the cabinetry under the sink in the bathroom which they also added, as well as two large wardrobes.


There is no requirement in France for a rental property to include anything beyond the absolute basics, as was the case in our downstairs apartment. For example, a landlord does not need to provide an oven in a kitchen or light fittings in any of the rooms - if they are not included and you want them, you can buy them yourself; if not, you'll find bare bulbs or, in some cases electric cables, extending from ceilings and walls, ready for fittings to be attached. Oftentimes a tenant will take the bulbs when they move out. They own them, so they take them. The upside of this is that you can, at least, decorate to your own taste!


There was an oven in the old apartment but not in the new and I was excited to go shopping for a new one when we arrived. I'm in love with our stainless steel, five (gas) burner, double oven SMEG. A recipe I have been enjoying making in it is originally from Eating Israel with Michael Solomonov and was featured on Saveur.com. I have adjusted the salt from a tablespoon to a teaspoonful and made a few other minor changes.


SPICY ROASTED CAULIFLOWER WITH TAHINI


Serves 4-6

Baking time: 1 hour

1 head of cauliflower, quartered with leaves intact

1/2 cup olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground turmeric

1 teaspoon sweet paprika

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 jalapeño, stemmed, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced crosswise

1 lemon, halved

1/2 cup tahini

Cilantro / coriander leaves, to garnish

* Use any chili that you have available to you, and use the amount that best suits your needs

* Smoked paprika works equally well in this recipe

Heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit / 200 degrees Celsius.

In a large bowl mix together the oil, salt, turmeric, paprika, garlic and jalapeño. Transfer the cauliflower to the bowl and turn to cover with the spiced oil. Alternatively you can place the cauli into a baking dish and pour the mixture over it.

Roast until tender at the core and browned on the outside, about 45 minutes.

Remove the cauliflower to a serving dish and squeeze the lemon juice over it and drizzle with the tahini. Garnish with cilantro and serve either hot or at room temperature.

C'EST LA GRÈVE

You might have seen or read in the news that there are ongoing and widespread strikes in France right now in response to proposed changes by the government to the Loi de Travail (Labour Code). I won't go into the ins and outs of the law or the objections that the Unions have to it, if you would like more information you can read more in an article dated 31 May 2016 here.


If you think there's a lot of industrial unrest in the Hexagon you're right; according to thelocal.fr (which labels itself as France's News in English) there was a total of 966 strikes in France in 2015. Ninety-three were national strikes and three were general, while the remaining 837 (almost ninety per cent) were regional. How can residents possibly navigate their way through all of this? There's an app (and website) for that: cestlagreve.fr (c'est la grève translates literally to "it's the strike"). I've found the daily notifications very useful lately but I'm also shaking my head in astonishment - and sadness - that there is a need for such a service.




AND IN OTHER NEWS

WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE MUCH TIME (AND, SERIOUSLY, WHO DOES?)

No suggestions about organization or time management here but I will tell you about a current events newsletter to which I'm subscribed, and that keeps me up-to-date with what's happening in the world.


The Daily Skimm is out of the United States and is emailed Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays in the USA). Major news stories (international and American content) are summarized. The writing is fresh, there are always links within the articles which give background to and expand on the storylines. As the founders say: they read, you Skimm. The information that lands in your mailbox will keep you informed in only a few minutes a day.


To have a look at what I'm talking about, click on this link: The Daily Skimm


I really love the site and am impressed that spreading the news about it is rewarded; if you decide to give subscription a go (it's free) I hope you will use the above link. Thanks!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page